• +91 9169-305-305


New to Onegodmed? SignUp


Have An Account ? Login


Chaitra Navratri 2020 - Know Astrological Significance the Pious 9 Days


Chaitra Navratri 2020 - Know Astrological Significance the Pious 9 Days

Navratri is among the most pious festivals celebrated in India. It is celebrated to worship Goddess Durga and her 9 forms. Hence, this festival lasts for 9 days. The Navratri festival in India is celebrated 5 times. However, Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navaratri are of much importance while the other 3 i.e. Gupt Navratri(s) are celebrated regionally. This year, Chaitra Navratri date is falling between Wednesday, 25th March, 2020 and Thursday, 2nd April, 2020. 

Importance and Significance of Navratri 2020
The word Navratri is made up of two words, “Nav” and “ratri” which means Nine Nights. During this festival, people observe different pious events like Durga Puja, Durga Aarti, and pray for the well being of their family and belongings. Most prominently, Navratri is celebrated in West Bengal, Delhi, and Gujarat. As Navratri festival days are considered extremely pious, people plan a lot of things like housewarming, wedding, purchasing new vehicles, etc. Also, they refrain from consuming onion, garlic, alcohol and meat. People worship nine forms of Durga maa during these sacred nine days, and finally immerse them in water on the 10th day, which is called as Visarjan.

1. Day1 - Maa Shailputri Puja
Maa Shailputri is the first incarnation of Goddess Durga. She is considered as the daughter of mountains which can be derived from her name as well (Shail means mountains and putri means daughter). She rides on Nandi bull , has a half moon on her forehead, holds a “Trishul” or Trident in her right hand and a lotus in the left hand. She has various other names as well like Sati, Bhavani, and Vrishiruddha. 

Astrological Aspect of Maa Shailputri
Maa Shailputri governs the planet Moon. Hence, people going through a bad phase due to planet moon should worship her to remove its ill effects.

2. Day 2 - Maa Brahmacharini Puja
Maa Brahmacharini is the 2nd incarnation of Durga Maa and has very simple looks. She wears white saree with a rosary in her left hand while the right hand carries a Kamandala. She is considered as the unmarried form of Parvati and is considered as the exemplar of love, wisdom and loyalty. 

Astrological Aspect of Maa Brahmacharini
Maa Brahmacharini owns the planet Mars. One should worship her to remove the ill effects of Mars from their life.

3. Day 3 - Maa Chandraghanta Puja
The 3rd epitome of Durga Maa, Maa Chandraghanta is the angry form of Parvati that remains calm until and unless provoked. She has a golden appearance with 10 arms carrying different objects like Trident, Kamandala, rosary, gadaa, Bow, etc. She rides a tigress and appears to be ready for a war.

Astrological Aspect of Maa Chandraghanta
Maa Chandraghanta rules the planet Venus and hence, one should pray to her to get rid of Venus’ill effects.

4. Day 4 - Maa Kushmanda Puja
Maa Kushmanda is also known with the name Ashtabhuja as she has 8 arms. She carries Chakra, Sword, Gadaa, Nectar or Amrit Kalash, Kamandal, Bow, Arrow and lotus in her hands. She appears to be having a lot of light in her that removes all the darkness from one's life.

Astrological Aspect of Maa Kushmanda Puja
Being the governor of planet Sun, Worshippingher will keep you safe from the bad effects of Sun.

5. Day 5 - Maa Skandamata Puja
The 5th epitome of Durga is Maa Skanda mata who got her name from her son Skanda. Skanda is also known with the names Kartikeya and Murugan. She has 4 arms and rides on a lion, carrying lotus in two of her hands, third hand carrying baby Kartikeya, and 4th in Abhaya Mudra. 

Astrological Aspect of Maa Skandamata Puja
Maa Skandamata governs the planet Mercury. Worship her to omit the negativity of this planet from your life.

6. Day 6 - Maa Katyayani Puja
Maa Katyayani is the angry form of Goddess Durga. She  took this form as Maa Katyayani to kill the demon Mahishasura. Due to her such appearance she is also known as the warrior goddess. SHe has 4 arms carrying Lotus, Sword, Abhay mudra and Varada and rides on a lion.

Astrological Aspect of Maa Katyayani Puja
Ma Katyayani rules planet Jupiter and her devotees always receive positivity of this planet.

7. Day 7 - Maa Kalaratri Puja
Maa Parvati's most violent form is Maa Kalaratri. Her name is amalgamation of Kaal, which means time or death and Ratri, means night. She is considered to be the one who omits the darkness. Out of her 4 hands, right hands remain in Abhaya and Varada mudra while the left two hands carry Sword and hook weapons. She rides on a donkey.

Astrological Aspect of Maa Kalaratri Puja
Maa Kalaratri governs the planet Saturn. People observing malefic effects of Shani should worship Goddess Kalaratri.

8. Day 8 - Maa MahaGauri Puja
As her name depicts, she appears to be very calm. She rides on a bull and has 4 arms. She holds Damru, and Trident while keeping other two hands and Abhaya and Varada mudra. Her name can be fragmented into Maha + Gauri which means Immense and White. 

Astrological Aspect of Maa MahaGauri Puja
Maa MahaGauri rules the planet Rahu and her devotees always get benefited with this planet.

9. Day 9 - Maa Siddhidatri Puja
Siddhi + Datri, means the one who gives spiritual powers. Maa Siddhi datri is the 9th incarnation of Maa Durga and has 4 arms while sitting on a lotus. She holds Gadaa, Chakra, lotus and Conch in her hands. Lord Shiva’s half body converted into Godess Siddhidatri after he worshipped her and received all her Siddhi(s). Hence he is also also known as ArdhNarishwar.

Astrological Aspect of Maa MahaGauri Puja
Planet ketu is governed by Maa SiddhiDatri and worshippers get benefitted by worshipping her.

To get the best benefits in Navratri 2020, worship all the 9 forms of Goddess Durga and get benefitted by all the banefic effects for their corresponding planets. Talk to professional astrologers online at onegodmed.com for more details.

We wish you all the best and a Happy Navratri!!

Reading Articles

The Vast topics are covered and explained to educate you a little more !


How Guru Poornima Can Chage Your Life

Guru Purnima also known as Vyasa Purnima marks the birthday of Ved Vyasa. ...

read more

What is Numerology and How Does it Work?

What Is Numerology? In simple terms, numerology is a study of numbers in your life....

read more

Why Smart People Believe in Astrology

Have you ever wondered why? The reason being when you suddenly face difficulties in your life, you t...

read more

Monthly Horoscope July, 2020

Monthly Horoscope means the analysis of whole month's predictions based on your zodiac sign or Ascen...

read more

what client says

Client’s contentment is of paramount importance for us. Take a look at what our clients have to say about us.